Ancestors of Brenda and Glen Pedersen

| Home | Search | Photos | Histories | Cemeteries | View Guestbook | Contact Us |

Print Bookmark


» Show All     «Prev «1 ... 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 ... 83» Next»     » Slide Show

Lawrence and Jane Agnes (Beesley) Pye

Notes regarding Jane's last name - Beesley/Smith and her obituary

There has been some confusion as to whether Jane Agnes had the last name of Smith or Beesley.

As per Barbara B. Stephan:

"JANE BEESLEY was the step-sister of my great-grandfather, JAMES SMITH. Born abt. 1844/45 in either White Lund or Heaton, Lancashire [depending on which census record you read], Jane was the daughter of AGNES BEESLEY (1820-1897). I do not have Jane's birth certificate, but the researcher who helped me locate my SMITH ancestor indicated that Jane was probably illegitimate.

AGNES BEESLEY, born in Heysham, Lancashire, married my GG grandfather WILLIAM SMITH on 25 Jan 1853--when Jane would have been about 11--in the Parochial Chapelry of Broughton, parish of Preston, Lancaster. On the marriage certificate, Agnes is listed as "Servant " residing in Broughton; her father is JAMES BEESLEY, Farmer."

Obituary - Mrs. L. Pye

Scotforth has lost one of its respected octogenarians by the death on Sunday of Mrs. Lawrence Pye, at the age of 82 years. Previous to her marriage, she resided with her parents, Mr. and Mrs. Smith at Mellershaw, Heaton with Oxcliffe. This farm suffered during the White Lund explosions. Mr. Lawrence Pye was one of the best known farmers in Wyresdale, farming Tarnbrook. Deceased leaves three daughters, Miss Alice Pye, Miss Janet Pye, and Mrs. Lowther (in Canada). The funeral was at Scotforth Cemetery yesterday (Thursday), The Rev. F. W. Griffiths officiating.

Linked toJane Agnes BEESLEY; Lawrence PYE

» Show All     «Prev «1 ... 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 ... 83» Next»     » Slide Show

Copyright © 2024 Brenda Pedersen
All Rights Reserved
Reunion by Leister Productions Inc manages the genealogy data.

This site powered by The Next Generation of Genealogy Sitebuilding ©, written by Darrin Lythgoe 2001-2024.